Monday, April 18, 2016

How To Avail Blood From Philippine Red Cross




The hospital where my father was confined for almost two weeks does not have its own blood center. When the doctor required my father to have blood transfusion, the hospital nurse told me to look for 3 bags of fresh blood or 3 bags of packed RBC because the hospital laboratory does not have B+ stock. Should you be in the same situation I was in, here are the guidelines on how to avail blood from the Philippine Red Cross, fees and the contact numbers of the blood centers:

1. Ask the doctor or the nurse assigned for a BLOOD REQUEST FORM from the hospital where the patient is admitted. The details needed are: full name of the patient, age, sex and status, blood type and RH group, blood component, number of units needed, diagnosis/indication for transfusion, printed name with signature of the attending physician.

2. Call the Philippine Red Cross National Blood Center to inquire and reserve the blood needed. You will be given a reservation code. (See Blood Centers and Phone numbers below)

3. Bring the blood request form to the Philippine Red Cross National Blood Center where you made the reservation.

4. Bring a cooler or styrofoam container with ice.

5. Bring the amount needed to pay for the BLOOD SERVICE FEE. The service fee charged is the significant costs associated with recruitment, collection, testing, processing, storage and handling of blood. The blood service fees charged are in conformance with the stipulated allowable fees mandated by the Department of Health.

BLOOD SERVICE FEES

Whole Blood (350 ml) - P1,650
Whole Blood (450 ml) - P1,800
Packed Red Blood Cells (PRBC) - P1,500
Platelet Concentrate - P1,000
Fresh Frozen Plasma (FFP) - P1,000
Cryoprecipitate - P1,000
Cryosupernate - P1,000
Leuko-reduced packed RBC or washed Red Cells - P2,000
Leuko-reduced platelet concentrate - P1,200
Leuko-reduced fresh frozen plasma - P1,200
Apheresis  platelets - P15,000

6. Immediately bring the blood dispensed by the Philippine Red Cross to the laboratory / blood center of the hospital where the patient is confined. 

BLOOD CENTERS



NATIONAL BLOOD CENTER
Bonifacio Drive, Port Area, Manila
Tel: (02) 527-0861
Fax: 301-9968
Email: nbc@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

National Capital Region

CALOOCAN CITY
7th Ave. Grace Park, Caloocan City
Tel: 3660380
Fax: 3645752
Email: caloocan@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

PASAY CITY
2354 CAA Compound, Aurora Blvd. (old Tramo), Pasay City
Telefax: 854-2748; Staff Agnes: 0918-917-1181, 0917-815-1178
Email: pasay@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

QUEZON CITY
Quezon City Hall Compound, Kalayaan Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City
Tel: 433-6568, 433-2152, 433-2151, 435-0238, 434-3751
Fax: 426-9627
Email: quezoncity@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

RIZAL
Shaw Blvd., Pasig City
Tel: 631-3993
Fax: 631-3592, 635-2825; MG: 635 -0922, 637-5691, 634-7824
Email: rizal@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

VALENZUELA CITY
Dahlia Street, Villa Teresa Subdivision, Marulas, Valenzuela City
Tel: 432-0273, 293-8375, 456-7767; Staff- Emy: 0919-466-8799
Email: valenzuela@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

Northern and Central Luzon

ALAMINOS CITY-WESTERN PANGASINAN
WPDH Compound, Sabaro, Poblacion, Alaminos City
Tel: 075-5516356
Fax: 075-551- 4636
Email: alaminos@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

BAGUIO CITY
39 Harrison Road, Baguio City
Telefax: 074-4424036, 074-3045995; Staff (Blood Service): 0919-5603314
Email: baguio@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

BENGUET
BeGHCompound, KM 5, La Trinidad, Benguet
Telefax: 074-4222796; Direct line: 074-3091111
Email: benguet@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

BULACAN
Capitol Center, Guinhawa, Malolos, Bulacan
Telefax: 044-662-5922; 0918-565-6753 (staff)
Email: bulacan@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ILOCOS NORTE
Bonifacio Street (back Heroes Hall), Laoag City
Tel: 077-770-5615
Fax: 077-772-0217
Email: ilocos.norte@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

ILOCOS SUR
Burgos Street, Provincial Capitol Compound, Vigan City
Telefax: 077-722-2684
Email: Ilocos.sur@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ISABELA
Calamangui 2nd, Ilagan, Isabela
Telefax: 078-6223248; Staff: 0918-861-8432
Email: isabela@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

LA UNION-SAN FERNANDO CITY
Don Pablo Campos Bldg., Widdoes Street, Barangay 2, City of San Fernado
Tel: 072-7005161 (Direct line)
Fax: 072-8883499
Email: launion@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

NUEVA ECIJA
Old Capitol Compound, Llanera Street, Cabanatuan City
Telefax: 044-4631280
Email: nueva.ecija@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

NUEVA VIZCAYA
Capitol Compound, Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya
Telefax: 078-321-2189
Email: nueva.vizcaya@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

OLONGAPO CITY
Old Hospital Compound, East Tapinac, Olongapo City
Telefax: 047-222-2181
Email: olongapo@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

PAMPANGA-ANGELES CITY
Capitol Compound, Sto.NiƱo, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Chapter Office located at Regional Government Center, Maimpis, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Telefax: 045-9614117; Regional Gov’t Center: 045-4553646; Blood Bank:045-322-7323
Email: pampanga@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

PANGASINAN-DAGUPAN CITY-SAN CARLOS CITY
Herrero-Perez Blvd., Dagupan City
Tel: 075-5154599
Fax: 075-5154577
Email: pangasinan@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

QUIRINO
Capitol Hills, Cabarroguis, Quirino
Telefax: 078-692-5054
Email: quirino@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

TARLAC
Capitol Site, San Vicente, Tarlac City
Tel: 045-6114008 (Direct line)
Telefax: 045-9820318
Email: tarlac@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

ZAMBALES
DSWD Compound, Brgy Palanginan, Iba, Zambales
Telefax: 047-811-7214; 047-811-3648; 0916-798-1091
Email: zambales @redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

Southern Tagalog Region

BATANGAS
Kumintang Ibaba, Capitol Site, Batangas City
Telefax: 043-7233027
Email: batangas@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

CAVITE
Samonte Park, Cavite City
Telefax: 046-431-0562
Email: cavite@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

LAGUNA
J. De Leon Street, Corner P. Guevarra Ave., Sta Cruz, Laguna
Telefax: 049-501-1114, 501-1929, 501-1800, 810-4904
Email: laguna@redcross.org.ph
Category: Regional Blood Center

PALAWAN
H. Mendoza Street, Old City Hall Site, Puerto Princesa City
Telefax: 048-433-6362
Email: palawan@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

QUEZON-LUCENA
Victoria Street, Capitol Compound, Lucena City
Tel: 6604460
Telefax: 042-710-2431
Email: quezonlucena@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

SAN PABLO CITY
Rizal Avenue, San Pablo City
Telefax: 049-562-4025; Direct line: 800-3203; SS staff: 800-6410
Email: sanpablo@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

Bicol Region

CATANDUANES
EBMC Compound, San Isidro Village, Virac, Catanduanes
Tel: 0917-806-8528 (Mobile)
Email: catanduanes@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

MASBATE
Capitol Road, Masbate City
Telefax: 056-333-2331, 056-333-4857
Email: masbate@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

CAMARINES SUR
Panganiban Drive, Naga City
Telefax: 054-4739-431, 811-2662
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

Visayas Region

AKLAN
Dr. RST Mem. Hospital Compound, F. Quimpo Street, Kalibo, Aklan
Tel: 036-2684761
Telefax: 036-268-1425
Email: aklan@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ANTIQUE
T. F. Street (front of PNB), San Jose, Antique
Telefax: 036-5407108
Email: antique@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

BOHOL
J.A. Clarin Street, Provincial Capitol Compound, Tagbilaran City
Telefax: 038-5019175
Email: bohol@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

CAPIZ
Provincial Park, Macopa Street, Roxas City
Telefax: 036-6211125
Email: capiz@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

GUIMARAS
Museo de Guimaras, San Miguel Jordan, Guimaras
Telefax: 033- 581-2020
Email: guimaras@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

LEYTE
Magsaysay Blvd. corner M.H. del Pilar Blvd., Tacloban City
Telefax: 053-321-3330
Email: leyte@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

NEGROS OCCIDENTAL –BACOLOD CITY
10th Street, Lacson Capitol Subd., Capitol Shopping Center, Bacolod City
Fax: 034-4349286, 034-4348541
Email: negros.occidental@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

NEGROS ORIENTAL
Legaspi Street, Dumaguete City
Telefax: 035-2252835
Email: negros.oriental@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

NORTHERN SAMAR
Capitol Site, Catarman, Northern Samar
Tel: 055-2518279
Email: northernsamar@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ORMOC CITY
San Pablo Street, Ormoc City
Telefax: 053-2552911
Email: ormoc@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

SOUTHERN LEYTE
Tomas Oppus Street, Brgy. Abgao, Maasin City, Southern Leyte
Tel: 053-381-0563; Staff: 09089856221
Fax: 053-570-8198
Email: southernleyte@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

Mindanao Region

AGUSAN DEL NORTE-BUTUAN CITY
Capitol Drive, Butuan City
Tel: 085-342-8521
Telefax: 085-8159977
Email: agusan.norte@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

AGUSAN DEL SUR
Government Center, Patin-ay, Properidad, Agusan del Sur
Telefax: 085-3437195
Email: agusan.sur@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

BUKIDNON
Capitol Site, Malaybalay City, Bukidnon
Telefax: 088-2213480
Email: bukidnon@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

COTABATO
Veterans Ave., PC Hill, Cotabato City
Tel: 064-4212274
Fax: 064-4216728
Email: cotabato@redcross.org.ph
Category: Regional Blood Center

DAVAO CITY
Manuel Roxas Avenue, Davao City
Fax: 082-2240217, 082-2273949, 082-2276650
Email: davaocity@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

DAVAO DEL NORTE
Government Center, Mankilain, Tagum, Davao
Telefax: 084-217-3473
Email: davao@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

DAVAO DEL SUR
Quezon Avenue, Digos City, Davao del Sur
Telefax: 082-5532832
Email: davao.sur@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

DAVAO ORIENTAL
Hospital Drive, Matiao, Mati, Davao Oriental
Telefax: 087-3884022
Email: davao.oriental@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

GENERAL SANTOS
City Hall Compound, General Santos City
Tel: 083-5524323; Staff: 09175483270
Fax: 083-5532178
Email: generalsantos@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

GINGOOG CITY
Misamis Oriental Hospital Compound, Gingoog City
Telefax: 088-42-7337; 0917-3574494 (staff)
Email: gingoog@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ILIGAN CITY
Don Pedro Street, Celdren Avenue, Rosario Heights, Iligan City
Telefax: 063-223-1065
Email: iligan@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station/Satellite Component Site

MISAMIS OCCIDENTAL -OROQUIETA CITY
Capitol Compound, Oroquieta City
Telefax: 088-531-1068
Email: misamis.occidental@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

SOUTH COTABATO
Mabini Street, Koronadal City, South Cotabato
Telefax: 083-2282414
Email: southcotabato@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station/Satellite Component Site

SULTAN KUDARAT PROVINCE-Tacurong City Chapter
Bonifacio Street (beside PNP & fronting TC Health Office), Tacurong City
Tel: 064-2006652
Email: sultankudarat@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

SULU
Marina Street Municipal Compound, Jolo, Sulu
Tel: 0928-951-5873 (Mobile)
Email: sulu@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

SURIGAO DEL NORTE
Parrucho Street Cor., Magallanes Street, Surigao City
Tel: 086-2324065
Fax: 086-8261347
Email: surigao.norte@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

SURIGAO DEL SUR
Capitol Hills, Tandag, Surigao del Sur
Telefax: 086-2113191, 086-2114191
Email: surigao.sur@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

TANGUB CITY
City Hall Compound, Tangub City
Telefax: 088-3953162
Email: tangub@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ZAMBOANGA CITY
Rizal Street, Pettit Barracks, Zamboanga City
Telefax: 062-9921622, 062-9922015
Email: zamboangacity@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE
Capitol Tourism Complex, Dipolog City
Telefax: 065-212-3566
Email: zamboanga.norte@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR –PAGADIAN CITY
Provincial Government Center, Barangay Dau, Pagadian City
Telefax: 062-214-1717
Email: zamboanga.sur@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Center

ZAMBOANGA -SIBUGAY Sub-Chapter
Climaco Street, Veterans Village, Ipil, Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur
Telefax: 062-333-5720
Email: zamboanga.sibugay@redcross.org.ph
Category: Blood Collecting Unit/Blood Station

To know more about the different services offered by the Philippine Red Cross, visit the website  http://www.redcross.org.ph/


5 comments:

  1. Hi Roselle.Hope your Dad is feeling much better now. Reading your post made me remember my Mom's major confinement two years ago. We needed a type A blood donor and we have to buy it in Angeles City which is quite far from our place in Lubao. Thank God my family survived that ordeal and so did my Mom. Kudos to you for sharing this post & for staying strong.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The experience made me realize how difficult it is to find blood. I now understand why Chairman Gordon has been encouraging people to donate blood.

      Delete
  2. Thank you for posting this information. It's very helpful

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for sharing this information :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you so much for detailed instructions and detailed services fees,it will guide billions of people how to avail.

    ReplyDelete

Food IG @foodiecheatday